Krishokoli Ami Tarei Boli : Dedication

She is dark as the message of shower in summer, dark as the shade of flowering woodland; she is dark as the longing for unknown love in the wistful night of May. -Rabindranath Tagore

Dark Lily I have named her
Village folks call her black

On a cloudy day I did see
Dark doe-eyes of the lassie
Veil she had not around her
Her loose braided hair flowing down her back
A dark one? As dark as she may be
Her doe eyes I have seen

Seeing the sky darken with clouds
Moo-ed two cows in dismay
With a hurried, hassled gait
Came the dark lass from her hut
A frown clouding her brows she gazed
Pausing to hear the clouds rumble
A dark one? As dark as she may be
Her doe eyes I have seen

A sudden breeze came from the east
Rippled a wave across the rice fields
I stood alone by the dyke, none else in the fields
Did she look at me?
Only I know, and so does she
A dark one? As dark as she may be
Her doe eyes I have seen

In such ways, the dense clouds
Darken the horizons in May
In such ways, shadows dark & soft
Caress the forests in July
In such ways, on monsoon nights
A sudden delight fills the heart
A dark one? As dark as she may be
Her doe eyes I have seen

Dark Lily I have named her
Let others call her what they may
I saw her at fields of Moynapara
Dark doe-eyes of the lassie
Her face was uncovered
Time she had not to feel abashed
A dark one? As dark as she may be
Her doe eyes I have seen

Any Suggestions ?

